Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Review: Rise of the Iron Eagle @DrRoyATeelJr

Title: Rise of the Iron Eagle 
Author: Roy A. Teel Jr. 
Series: The Iron Eagle Series  #1
Release Date: May 31st 2014
Format: Paperback & ebook 
Publisher: Narroway Press

The city of Los Angeles is no stranger to violence. It has both a colorful and grotesque history with it. Sheriff's Homicide Detective Jim O'Brian and FBI Profiler Special Agent Steve Hoffman are also no strangers to the violence of the sprawling metropolis, but in the past decade something has changed. There's a serial killer preying on other serial killers - some known by law enforcement, others well off radar. "The Iron Eagle," a vigilante, extracts vengeance for the victims of Los Angeles' serial killers. His methods are meticulous and his killings brutal. With each passing day, "The Iron Eagle" moves with impunity through the streets of Los Angeles in search of his prey. O'Brian and Hoffman create an elite task force with the sole purpose of catching "The Eagle" and bringing him to justice. But the deeper they delve, the more apparent it is that he may very well be one of their own. As the two men stare into the abyss of their search, the eyes of "The Iron Eagle" stare back.

*Content Warning: The Iron Eagle Crime novel series contains mature subject matter, graphic violence, sexual content, language, torture and other scenes that may be disturbing to sensitive readers. This series is not intended for anyone under the age of eighteen, reader discretion is advised.

On May 11, 1995, at 30, Roy’s life was irrevocably changed. After walking into the hospital, he was admitted and later received the worst possible diagnosis – Primary Progressive Multiple Sclerosis. His doctors gave him two years to live, and he left the hospital in a wheelchair. After battling Multiple Sclerosis for nearly 16 years, Roy began devoting his energies and passions to the full-time art of storytelling. His disability has brought with it an unforeseen blessing. He can finally take medications to alleviate some of the pain from his MS and focus on the pleasures of character creation and the joys of putting words to paper.

As an author, Roy A. Teel Jr. is very diverse, and his works include both fiction and nonfiction. His previous works include The Way, The Truth, and The Lies: How the Gospels Mislead Christians about Jesus’ True Message (2005), Against The Grain: The American Mega-Church and its Culture of Control (2008), Light of Darkness: Dialogues in Death(2008), and And God Laughed (2013).

In 2014, Roy began publishing his latest and largest project – a 15-book geographically-centered hard-boiled, mystery, suspense, thriller crime series: “The Iron Eagle Series.” The main character, a former Marine Corps Black Operative turned rogue FBI agent, hunts serial killers in Los Angeles. Each novel addresses different subjects, and while fiction, all titles deal with real world subject matter. “The Iron Eagle Series” is not about things that can’t hurt you. What happens in these novels can happen to any one of us if we let our guard down and/or are in the wrong place at the wrong time. To learn more, go to

Roy lives in Lake Arrowhead, CA with his wife and children. Readers can connect with him on FacebookTwitter, andGoodreads.

'Rise of the Iron Eagle' is a phenomenal suspense crime story with spectacular characters and detailed murders. This is the first of what it looks like an excellent series.

Detective Jim O'Brian and Special Agent Steve Hoffman are long time friends and have worked together for years. Serial killers have always been part of their job but when a serial killer with a special MO appears, their lives will not be the same. The Iron Eagle dedicates his time to find and kill other serial killers. 

The author uses detailed descriptions of both places and characters. He creates a complete world with a solid plot and a flawless storyline. The crimes are hard to read because the author describes them meticulously. The killings are rough and brutal.

The characters are complex and they continue evolving as the story moves on. Each one, including the killers, has motivations and real personalities. 

I absolutely loved that the author lets us know the Iron Eagle identity from the beginning. It’s both exciting and exasperating because there were moments that I wanted to shout to the characters things like “HE is the Iron Eagle” , “Don’t trust him”, it was like watching a horror movie and trying to help the next victim.

Overall, it’s an excellent crime story, full of action and blood. The rhythm is fast and it’s hard to stop reading.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for your comment!!!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...